It’s SO cool to get my way

Well it was more that I got something I wanted because some days it actually starts life in a good direction when you get something you want.  Well it helps ME anyway. 🙂

I have been struggling this year to GET THINGS MOVING.  There has been a series of sick weeks, work travel, personal distractions, and emotional confusion.  So as excited as I usually get in January to start a new years resolution or list of goals, this year it just didn’t happen.  I was focused on the new things in my life, but then it almost seemed like my life came to a screeching halt, and I couldn’t get it going again.  Which reminds me… I am now just remembering I hate January, but that is for another days’ post. 

Then something kinda cool happened yesterday.  I got something I wanted.  Now this may sound a little selfish and slightly self absorbed, but that is the simplest way to put it.  I have been looking around for a recumbent indoor bicycle to assist with my exercise program.  I used one during my physical therapy of my knee last year and discovered I really, REALLY liked it; and it was EASY.  Yes I know, I’m one of those silly people who needs to be CONNED… I mean convinced that exercise is a good thing.  That I just need to accept it is a necessary part of overall health, but lets just say the psyche is coming along KICKING and SCREAMING to this one.  I like being at rest.  I like allowing my brain permission to relax and that only happens when the body is relaxed.  But again I am getting distracted with a topic for another day. Point being… I’ve been surfing and craigslisting on occasion for a recumbent bike.   

It may seem simple or it may seem lofty, but I have been looking since September.  With the fact that ALL exercise equipment seems to come with a NOT IN MY BUDGET price tag, and that’s for the cheap pieces, its been kinda frustrating.  So I have been doing a good job of telling myself NO, and just waiting until the RIGHT deal comes around, or I have SAVED UP ENOUGH TO PAY FOR IT.  (Some days I hate Dave Ramsey.)

Then there is the job side of the equation.  They have been threatening since September to put me on the road 3 weeks a month.  So if I’m not home with the piece of exercise equipment, when am I going to use it, right?  I mean why buy a piece of equipment when you can use a hotel gym for free, this seemed so logical.  I did the math in my head, a piece of equipment that would get used 2 times a month sure does NOT seem worth the return on investment.  So again another reason to not give in to my whims and desires to BUY and wait. 

This is the One!

So there I was yesterday posting my “have room for rent” craigslist posting for like the 4th time in the last 6 weeks.  When did my usual, searches: housing needed, medifast food for discount, and recumbent bike (AND recumbant bike), glad I am not the only one who can’t spell.  And there it was… a posting just 1 day before (you other craigslisters know why that’s important), seeming modern, compact, digital, well-built recumbent bike for a IN MY BUDGET price.  Not cheap, but in the range I was willing to spend.  So I made the usually inquiries about availability, when can I come see, and made a master plan on how to convince a friend of mine to help me. (Yes, I usually offer up gas money and/or food in hopes that will be enough; if not I promise to help them MOVE or unpack or some silliness like that.) So there I was with desire, money, and a PLAN.  Now I know God laughs when we make plans and 9 out of 10 times these grand schemes of mine usually break down on one or more of the different toothpicks that I have built the bridge of things must go JUST PERFECTLY for this to work plan. 

But alas, I am here to tell you, IT WORKED.  And the lovely piece of exercise equipment is sitting in my room in the perfect spot I wanted all set up and waiting for me to dive in.  There is just something about how excited and fulfilled I get when a plan comes together.  So as I sit here making my plans for the next big accomplishment, I am giddy and proud and thankful that this little goal was accomplished.  I guess a better title would have been, I love it when a plan comes together, but I think that’s a quote or something. 🙂

Now the plan to make it a working piece of equipment and not a clothing rack.  Since I didn’t buy it in January, does that mean I have a better chance of being successful?

One thought on “It’s SO cool to get my way

  1. Good job you!

    I’d love one of those, I just need to figure out how to use it to power the TV, so the only way I could watch Food Network would be while exercising.

    Yeah, I know…that’s messed up.

Leave a Reply

